1 Square Foot at a Time

It is getting close to the time to begin planting early spring crops – broccoli, kale, lettuce, celery, parsley, beets, cauliflower.  Since we will be using (2) square foot gardens with hooped plastic coverings, I would expect that planting will take place by the end of February (11:56 hours of sunlight). In mid-January temperatures are registering plus 80 degrees under the plastic covering.  Some of the new seedlings needed to be transplanted into larger containers. I looked online to check prices of plastic pots.

But!

Take a guess how many milk containers are thrown away at U.S. schools every day.

I needed to buy some pots.  My wife Kathy and I volunteer at the Randolph Community Middle School in Randolph, Massachusetts.  We have reused milk cartons from the cafeteria in the past for science experiments.  I decided I could send money to Amazon or pay a student to make pots…

View original post 231 more words

Leave a Reply

